puerto princesa underground river

Palawan described as the “Last Frontier” is located west of the main Philippine chain of islands, lying 7o47’ and 12o22’ north latitude 117o00’,119o51’ east longitude. The province is the Philippines’ Southwest frontier with Malaysia and forms a link between the Philippines and the East Indies.

The province stratches 650 kilometers from tip to tip, reclining between Mindoro Island and North Borneo and is approximately 240 kilometers southwest of Manila. It is bounded by the West Philippine Sea to the northwest and by the Sulu Sea to the east. Its provincial limits commence with Busuanga Island, which is 45 nautical miles from Mindoro to the north, the Cuyo Groups of Island in the northeast, Cagayancillo in the wet and Spratly Islands in the west. It ends with Balabac farthest south. The southernmost tip of Balabac, the Mangsee Island, is 48.8 nautical miles from Sabah in North Borneo.

The province is subdivided into 23 municipalities, 1 city and 432 barangays. Eleven municipalities are located in the mainland. The other 12 are island municipalities.

The City of Puerto Princesa, which is the provincial capital, is the chief seaport on the East Coast and the center of trade, commerce and education. It lies at the mid-section of the long strip of Palawan Island province. It is approximately 306 nautical miles from Manila, 206 nautical miles to Panay Island and about 250 nautical miles to Zamboanga. It is bounded on the North by the municipality of San Vicente and Roxas and on the South by the Municipality of Aborlan. Its Western side is a coastline of the South China Sea while to the East lies the Sulu Sea.

Total land area is 253, 982 hectares or 2,539.8200 square kilometers long with the narrowest breadth of 8.5 kilometers in Barangay Bahile.

The City has now 35 urban barangays and 31 rural or a total of 66 barangays. Before, there were 24 urban and 44 rural barangays, but by virtue of the City Ordinance No. 100 adopting the Revised City Zoning Ordinance as passed by the City Council on March 19, 1998 and was approved by the City Mayor on June 4, 1998, the eleven rural barangays were reclassified as urban barangays. These are barangays of Bancao-Bancao, STa. Monica, San Manuel, Sta. Lourdes and Irawan.

Palawan is not just the “Last Frontier” nor the “Cleanest and Greenest City and Province”, but a paradise with a very bright future and promise a land truly blessed by the Almighty Creator.

puerto princesa baywalk

honda bay